The Detective’s Album was the long-running detective series of Australia’s first female crime-fiction writer, Mary Fortune. 

Narrated by the fictional detective Mark Sinclair, the series begins with his recollections as he looks back through his album of mugshots from an eventful police career. 

This volume reproduces the first ten episodes of the series, as originally published in the Australian Journal In 1868-69. It contains the titles: 
1. The Red Room 
2. The Fratricide 
3. The Poisoner 
4. Simple Sam 
5. Fire 
6. The Ruby Ring 
7. The Dead Man’s Beat 
8. The Geneva Watch 
9. Lost Ella 
10. Love 


Mary Fortune

Mary Fortune (c. 1833-1910?) migrated from Canada to the Australian goldfields in 1855. She published her first detective stories in the Australian Journal in 1865, using the pseudonyms of 'Waif Wander' and 'W. W.'. In all, she wrote over 500 detective stories over 40 years, most featuring Detective Mark Sinclair. Her one book, The Detective's Album (1871), is the first known collection of detective fiction stories by a woman. She died an alcoholic, the date and place still unknown - somehow fitting for this pioneering woman of mystery.

Country of Origin



Year of Publication
Book Source
Reading Pile

Add new comment

This is a book review site, with no relationship whatsoever with any of the authors mentioned here.

We do not provide a method for you to contact authors for any reason and comments of this nature are automatically deleted.

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.