Karen Chisholm

In a darkened bar, up a wide old stone staircase, deep in Trades Hall Melbourne on Saturday night we gathered for the 20th Anniversary of the Ned Kelly Awards.

These awards were special for a few reasons - they were back in Melbourne, it was the 20th Anniversary of the Neddies (as they are affectionately known) and ACWA had a few surprises up its various sleeves. And I don't just mean the winners of the awards.

Karen Chisholm

For more: http://www.austcrimewriters.com/content/2013-ned-kelly-awards(link is external)

Winner - Best First Fiction

Zane Lovitt - The Midnight Promise

Winner - True Crime

Robin de Crespigny - The People Smuggler

Winner - Best Fiction

Geoffrey McGeachinBlackwattle Creek