THE DEAD OF WINTER is the third in the the John Madden series.  The first novel, River of Darkness took place in England just after World War I.

DEAD OF WINTER is set in London in 1944 when a young Polish woman is garroted on a darkened city street. She is on her way to visit her aunt. Police begin investigating. John Madden, recently retired from the police force becomes involved because the young woman was living and working on his farm.

The young woman was universally liked and no one can figure out a motive for her death. She wasn’t robbed, she wasn’t sexually assaulted.  The case becomes more complex when a prostitute who saw the girl tells the police she thought a man was following her.  The prostitute is later found murdered in the same manner.


Rennie Airth

Rennie Airth was born in South Africa and has worked as a foreign correspondent for Reuters. The first novel in his John Madden trilogy, River of Darkness, was published in 1999 to huge critical acclaim, was shortlisted for four crime fiction awards and won the Grand Prix de Littérature Policière in France. The sensational sequel was The Blood-Dimmed Tide, and The Dead of Winter forms the final part of the trilogy. 


Country of Origin


Series: John Madden

Book Number:
Book Number:
Review THE DEAD OF WINTER - Rennie Airth
Sunnie Gill
Wednesday, October 7, 2009
Review THE BLOOD-DIMMED TIDE - Rennie Airth
Karen Chisholm
Monday, October 1, 2007
Year of Publication
Book Number (in series)
Review THE DEAD OF WINTER - Rennie Airth
Sunnie Gill
Wednesday, October 7, 2009

Add new comment

This is a book review site, with no relationship whatsoever with any of the authors mentioned here.

We do not provide a method for you to contact authors for any reason and comments of this nature are automatically deleted.

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.