In these dark woods, many schlocky movies were once made.  It was universally agreed that they were mostly rubbish, but they did sell well enough to a certain market and many wild drug fuelled parties were enjoyed in the making of the low budget horror flicks.

After the discovery of a body in the former-filmset woods, a case once investigated by former Detective Inspector John Rebus now has the benefit of fresh eyes. The deceased, private investigator Stuart Bloom was once a thorn in the side of locals and the initial extensive search and questioning of local businessmen and landowners had not ten years ago produced any results for Rebus or his team. In the present day, a body turning up in an area that had already been searched at the time of the disappearance indicates to D.I. Siobhan Clarke that mistakes may have been made in the original investigation. 


Ian Rankin

Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, Ian Rankin graduated from the University of Edinburgh in 1982 and then spent three years writing novels when he was supposed to be working towards a PhD in Scottish Literature. His first Rebus novel was published in 1987; the Rebus books are now translated into 22 languages and are bestsellers on several continents.

Country of Origin



Series: John Rebus

Series: Malcolm Fox

Year of Publication
Book Number (in series)
Review In a House of Lies, Ian Rankin
Andrea Thompson
Saturday, November 10, 2018

Add new comment

This is a book review site, with no relationship whatsoever with any of the authors mentioned here.

We do not provide a method for you to contact authors for any reason and comments of this nature are automatically deleted.

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.