BLOG

So I'm a fickle reader.  I always maintain that blurbs / comparisons / recommendations all that stuff on a cover don't mean a thing.  But this book arrived, and there was this "perfect read for fans of Child 44, Angels and Demons...." bit in the blurb.  Angels and Demons probably didn't have the affect that the publicist might have been looking for, but I definitely did love Child 44 - and I noticed at the end of the book there is the true timeline of events around the death of the Romanovs (hate fiction that plays too much with history - my brain explodes trying to remember what is reality and what was fictional), and all in all this book really tweaked my interest.

From the Blurb:

Inspector Pekkala - known as the Emerald Eye - was one the most famous detective in all Russia, the favourite of the Tsar.  Now he is the prisoner of the men he once hunted.

Opening Lines:

The man sat up with a gasp.

He was alone in the forest.

The dream had woken him again.

He pulled aside the old horse blanket.  Its cloth was wet with dew.

 

BOOK DETAILS
BOOK INFORMATION
Author
ISBN
9780571245345
Year of Publication
Book Number (in series)
1
BLURB

Inspector Pekkala - known as the Emerald Eye - was once the most famous detective in all Russia, the favourite of the Tsar.  Now he is the prisoner of the men he once hunted.

Like millions of others, he has been sent to the gulags in Siberia and as far as the rest of the world is concerned, he is as good as dead.  But a reprieve comes when he is summoned by Stalin himself to investigate a crime.  His mission - to uncover the men who really killed the Tsar and his family, and to locate the Tsar's treasure.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Submitted by Karen on Mon, 19/04/2010 - 07:13 pm