Mystery debuts don't come much better than this - The Wooden Leg of Inspector Anders straps us into a truly hair-raising ride that nonetheless has the feel of a classic hero's journey. --Otto Penzler

Meet the latest figure in the international crime scene: Inspector Anders, the Rome cop who's the creation of Melbourne writer Marshall Browne. In this, the first Anders book, the Inspector is sent to a city in southern Italy to investigate the killing of a respected judge. There he finds himself drawn into a shadowy world of corruption and power, and becomes increasingly involved with both the case and the judge's widow. Earlier in his career, Anders was a hero. Then he lost his leg - and his nerve - to an anarchist bomb. Now the widow is offering him the chance to redeem his life with one last explosive act of courage.

Steeped in the landscape and culture of southern Italy, this novel reads like a fictionalised version of parts of Midnight in Sicily. Browne's second book in the Anders series, Inspector Anders and the Ship of Fools, is now also available.


Marshall Browne

Marshall Browne, born in Melbourne, was a sixth generation Australian. His forebear, a Calcutta merchant of Irish-Persian parentage, arrived in Sydney in 1809, and bought a grazing property near Cabramatta.With other land granted by Governor Macquarie, he settled down to New South Wales life as both merchant and grazier. He was one of the founders of Australia's first bank - The Bank of New South Wales.

Marshall followed several others of the family line into banking. During 1974-81 he was based in Hong Kong. He began writing novels in his spare time, and three with Far East backgrounds were published in London - the best known of which is City of Masks: a thriller set in Hong Kong's back streets and banking boardrooms which was translated into German, and published in Munich. From 1982-1995 he lived variously in London, Melbourne and Bhutan, in a variety of banking roles. He also served as a commando in the Australian forces, and as a paratrooper in the British forces. 

Country of Origin



Series: Aoki

Series: Franz Schmidt

Series: Inspector Anders

Series: Melbourne Trilogy

Series: Robert Hale

Year of Publication

Add new comment

This is a book review site, with no relationship whatsoever with any of the authors mentioned here.

We do not provide a method for you to contact authors for any reason and comments of this nature are automatically deleted.

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.