A traditional British mystery novel "The Dwarf's Chamber" was written by a master of the mystery genre Fergus Hume and set in Victorian Britain. 

This ebook edition also includes 8 short detective stories: 

  • Miss Jonathan 
  • The Dead Man's Diamonds 
  • 'The Tale of the Turquoise Skull' 
  • The Green-Stone God and the Stockbroker 
  • The Jesuit and the Mexican Coin 
  • The Rainbow Camellia 
  • The Ivory Leg and the Twenty-Four Diamonds 
  • My Cousin from France 

Fergus Hume

Fergus Hume (1859-1932) Ferguson Wright Hume was born in England. At the age of three his father emigrated with his family to New Zealand. He attended high school in Dunedin and studied law at the University of Otago. Shortly after graduation he left for Melbourne where he obtained a post as a barrister's clerk. After failed attempts to become a playwright, he decided to write a novel instead. Not knowing what to write: "I enquired of a leading Melbourne bookseller what style of book he sold most of He replied that the detective stories of Gaboriau had a large sale; and as, at this time, I had never even heard of this author, I bought all his works - eleven or thereabouts - and read them carefully. The style of these stories attracted me, and I determined to write a book of the same class; containing a mystery, a murder, and a description of low life in Melbourne." The result was The Mystery of a Hansom Cab, which became a great success after he self-published. After the success of his first novel, Hume returned to England. He resided in London for few years and then he moved to the Essex countryside where he lived in Thundersley for thirty years. 

Country of Origin



Year of Publication

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.