People changed; they were no longer recognisable as Australians. Frustrations and misfortunes festered into wounds here, deranged the mind and poisoned the blood.

Suicide, or murder? Newly arrived in Papua, where even the luscious vegetation conspires with the bureaucrats to bewilder her, Stella Warwick is determined to prove her husband did not take his own life. Defying the patronising concern of officials, she ventures deep into the jungle, striding ever closer to the horrifying heart of the mystery.

Beat Not the Bones was the inaugural winner of the Edgar Award for Best Novel in 1954.


Charlotte Jay

Pseudonym Of

Geraldine Halls

Charlotte Jay was the pseudonym of Australian mystery writer Geraldine Halls (1919-1996). One of the best and most singular authors of the suspense era, she wrote only nine books, but their unorthodoxy secured her a high place in Mystery Hall of Fame. The haunting Beat Not The Bones won the then newly created Edgar Award for Best Novel of the Year in 1954. Bibliography The Knife Is Feminine 1951 Beat Not the Bones 1952 The Fugitive Eye 1953 The Yellow Turban 1955 The Man Who Walked Away (US Title: The Stepfather) 1958 Arms for Adonis 1960 A Hank of Hair 1964 The Voice of the Crab 1974 As Geraldine Halls Jay: The Feast of the Dead (US Title: The Brink of Silence) 1956

Country of Origin
Country of Origin



Year of Publication

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.