War, disease, biotechnology and religion intertwine in a gripping near-future thriller.

Twenty years ago an Ebola epidemic brought the world to the edge of oblivion. The West won the war, the East was isolated behind a wall, and a vaccine against Ebola was developed. Peace prevailed. Now Agent Noah Williams is being sent over the barrier to investigate a rogue scientist who risks releasing another plague. But why would a once-respected academic threaten the enforced vaccination program that ensures humans are no longer an endangered species? 

Hunting for answers amid shootouts, espionage and murder, Noah will have to confront a fundamental question: In the fight for survival, can our humanity survive too?

Set in the year 2040, within a complex, volatile political climate that is wholly immersive and unnerving, The Barrier is a blazing, fast-paced thriller in the vein of Michael Crichton and Matthew Reilly; with the subversiveness of John le Carre. But also, one man's story of overcoming grief in order to recapture his faith.

Author

Shankari Chandran

Shankari Chandran is a dystopic thriller writer and a lawyer. Shankari worked in the social justice field for a decade in London. She was responsible for projects in over 30 countries ranging from ensuring representation for detainees in Guantanamo Bay to training lawyers in Rwanda to advising UK Prime Minister Gordon Brown.  Her work helped her understand the role and limitations of international humanitarian law in conflicts. It also showed her what happens to society when governments subvert civil liberties. These issues form major themes in her writing.

Country of Origin

Books:

Series:

ISBN
9781925481
Book Source
Reading Pile

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.