Author Information
Author Name: 
Author's Home Country: 
Publication Details
Book Title: 
The Winter of the Lions
Kimmo Joentaa
Year of Publication: 
Categories & Groupings
Sub Genre: 
Book Synopsis

Every year since the tragic death of his wife Detective Kimmo Joentaa has prepared for the isolation of Christmas with a glass of milk and a bottle of vodka to arm him against the harsh Finnish winter. However, this year events take an unexpected turn when a young prostitute turns up on his doorstep.

Not long afterwards one of Kimmo's colleagues, a forensic pathologist, is found murdered and Finland's most famous talk-show host is brutally attacked. When it becomes clear that the pathologist had recently been a guest on the star's show, Kimmo is called upon to use all his powers of intuition and instinct to solve the case. Meanwhile the killer is lying in wait, ready to strike again...

Book Review

I cannot believe, firstly that I've left the last two books in this series unread for so long, and secondly I'd be daft enough to read the third, THE WINTER OF THE LIONS out of order.  Not that it made a lot of difference to the experience.  It's hard to use the word enjoyable when you're referring to any of the books by Jan Costin Wagner as they are so steeped in grief and brooding, although, there was just a glimmer that Kimmo Joentaa might be ready to move on a little.  Even though the death of his wife is still the defining thing in his life, he is forced to look outside himself, despite it being Christmas, the time of year he most dreads.

Set in Finland, Wagner is a German writer with a unique sense of the culture and the country.  His writing is pared down, emotional and dark.  The plotting of the book is slow, often impenetrable, yet for this reader, it simply didn't matter.  The storytelling really is astoundingly affecting and involving.  Joentaa is magnificently morose, but without a feeling of overwhelming self-pity. 

The first book in the series, ICE MOON, was a revelation when I first read it and I waited impatiently for the next to be translated.  Then for reasons best known to my idiot self, I bought and then never picked up the next book in the series SILENCE.  There really are times when I could kick myself, or at least put the book immediately on the bedside table.

All Reviews of Books by this Author

Post new comment