Review - The Chimera Vector, Nathan M. Farrugia

Author Information
Author Name: 
Author's Home Country: 
Publication Details
Book Title: 
The Chimera Vector
ISBN: 
B007N6SWW2
Publisher: 
Categories & Groupings
Book Synopsis

The Fifth Column: the world’s most powerful and secretive organization. They run our militaries. They run our governments. They run our terrorist cells.

Recruited as a child, Sophia is a deniable operative for the Fifth Column. Like all operatives, Sophia’s DNA has been altered to augment her senses and her mind is splintered into programmed subsets.

On a routine mission in Iran something goes catastrophically wrong. Bugs are beginning to appear in Sophia’s programming and the mission spins out of control.

High-speed chases, gun fights, helicopter battles, immortal psychopaths, super soldiers and mutant abilities are all in the mix in this edge-of-your-seat action-packed techno-thriller.

Perfect for fans of Matthew Reilly, THE CHIMERA VECTOR melds sci-fi with sizzling espionage action. 

Book Review

The combination of science fiction and thriller works particularly well in THE CHIMERA VECTOR - an action packed, roller-coaster of a ride from local writer Nathan M. Farrugia. 

Although action packed doesn't quite do justice to the level of no prisoner's taken, hard fought action and thrills and spills in this novel, combined with a set of really good, strong characters. The combination of the science fiction style elements with the covert ops thriller styling works seamlessly, creating real tension, threat and people to connect with.

For this reader, who doesn't always quite "get" science fiction, the combination of different types of humans coexisting, battling with power games, and those that use similar technology to try to control everything had a lot of obvious parallels to real life. The idea that the "science" here wasn't that far out there actually made the thriller aspects work particularly well, particularly the urgency of the battle between the "good" and "bad" guys.

Obviously those with more knowledge of this type of cross genre work would be able to provide comparisons to like works to give potential readers some hints, but for this none science fiction reader, who loves a good thriller nonetheless, THE CHIMERA VECTOR was really quite a surprise. The balance between plot and characters is spot on, the action unrelenting and the battle between good and bad believable and highly entertaining.


All Reviews of Books by this Author

Post new comment