Margot Neville

Author Summary
Author's Home Country: 

About the Author

Margot Neville - actually two sisters, Ann Neville Goyder Joske (1887-1966) and Margot Goyder (1907-1975). They wrote successful plays, novels and two screenplays under the joint pseudonym from 1923, coming to detective fiction with Murder in Rockwater (1944). They also wrote a play with Joan Lindsay, author of Picnic at Hanging Rock. In all they wrote 22 crime novels, mostly police procedurals set in Sydney, with detectives Grogan and Manning.


  • Murder in Rockwater 1944 (aka Lena Hates Men)
  • Murder and Gardenias 1946
  • Murder in A Blue Moon 1948
  • Murder of A Nymph 1949
  • Come, Thick Night 1951 (aka Divining Rod For Murder)
  • Murder Before Marriage 1951
  • The Seagull Said Murder 1952
  • Murder of the Well Beloved 1953
  • Murder and Poor Jenny 1954
  • The Hateful Voyage 1956
  • Murder of Olympia 1956
  • Murder To Welcome Her 1957
  • The Flame of Murder 1958
  • Sweet Night For Murder 1959
  • Confession of Murder 1960
  • Murder Beyond the Pale 1961
  • Drop Dead 1962
  • Come See Me Die 1963
  • My Bad Boy 1964
  • Ladies in the Dark 1965
  • Head on the Sill 1966

Postings About This Author

Whoops - sorry, it seems there have been no other postings on this site for this author.

Which just goes to show how many great Australasian Crime Fiction and True Crime authors there are out there!

Books By This Author

Whoops - sorry, so far I've not added any books by this author to the database.

This might be because I've not been able to find anything, or it simply could be because I'm always behind....

If you can provide me with any links / assistance, please let me know.

Post new comment