Hazel Edwards, Morris Gleitzman among nominees for Astrid Lindgren Award

$5M kroner Astrid Lindgren International Children’s Literature Award

( regarded as The Children’s Lit equivalent of the Nobel Prize)

MEDIA RELEASE; Thursday Sept 17th 2009


I’ve always admired Astrid Lindgren’s portrayal of adventurous, feisty female characters like Pippi Longstocking , Lindgren’s independence as an author and also her mentoring of young creators. I was born in 1945 ,the year her Pippi Longstocking was published.’’Hazel Edwards

Blackburn (Vic) author Hazel Edwards (www.hazeledwards.com) is one of Australia’s nominees for The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award www.alma.se . Illustrator Shaun Tan and YA author Morris Gleitzman are in the 168 nominees from 61 countries which include UK Children’s Laureates Jacqueline Wilson and Michael Morpurgo , illustrator Quentin Blake and New Zealand’s author Margaret Mahy.

Other recipients

In 2008, Australian Sonya Hartnett was the first Australian to win this highly prestiguous award which is regarded as the equivalent of the Nobel Prize for Children’s Literature.Previous winners have included Maurice Sendak(Where the Wild Things Are) and Katherine Paterson (Bridge to Terabithia) as well as Banco del Libro a Book Exchange Bank to promote reading in Venezuela

Details of Award

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA) is the world's largest prize for children's and young adult literature. The award, which amounts to SEK 5 million, is awarded annually to a single recipient or to several. Authors, illustrators, oral storytellers and those active in reading promotion may be rewarded. The award is designed to promote interest in children's and young adult literature, and in children's rights, globally. An expert jury selects the winners from candidates nominated by institutions and organisations worldwide. The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is administered by the Swedish Arts Council. Astrid Lindgren was the well known Scandinavian author of books about feisty girls.As an author, a publisher, vocal advocate for human rights and mentor of young writers,Lindgren had a decided impact on the world of children's literature, and on the standing of the rights of children.She died at 94 and her works are translated into more than 90 languages.

The winner will be announced in 2010 and awarded by H.R.H. Crown Princess Victoria of Sweden at the May ceremony in Stockholm.

To interview:Hazel Edwards

M 0409 022702

(03) 98087803

www.hazeledwards.com has bio and hi res downloadable author photo

Post new comment