Charlotte Jay

Author Summary
Author's Home Country: 

About the Author

Charlotte Jay was the pseudonym of Australian mystery writer Geraldine Halls (1919-1996). One of the best and most singular authors of the suspense era, she wrote only nine books, but their unorthodoxy secured her a high place in Mystery Hall of Fame. The haunting Beat Not The Bones won the then newly created Edgar Award for Best Novel of the Year in 1954.


  • The Knife Is Feminine 1951
  • Beat Not the Bones 1952
  • The Fugitive Eye 1953
  • The Yellow Turban 1955
  • The Man Who Walked Away (US Title: The Stepfather) 1958
  • Arms for Adonis 1960
  • A Hank of Hair 1964
  • The Voice of the Crab 1974

As Geraldine Halls Jay:

  • The Feast of the Dead (US Title: The Brink of Silence) 1956

Postings About This Author

Add new comment

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.