Karen's blog

Currently Reading - The Man from Beijing, Henning Mankell

Author Name: 

Not a Wallender novel, the latest book from Henning Mankell is set in Sweden and China.  The blurb includes a tantalising opening line:  "Revenge Can Take More than a Lifetime..."

From the Blurb:

One cold January day the police are called to a sleepy little hamlet in the north of Sweden where they find the victim of a savage murder lying in the snow.  As they begin their investigation they notice that the village seems eerily quiet and deserted.  Going from house to house, looking for witnesses, they uncover a crime unprecedented in Swedish history.

Currently Reading - The Edge of Madness, Michael Dobbs

Book Title: 
Author Name: 

I've been a bit reticent about this book, not being a huge fan of cyber-thrillers, but I'm really pleased I picked up this book now.  Particularly with the current stories flying around about mining company computer systems being hacked - interesting to say the least.

From the Blurb:

Currently Reading - The Black Russian, Lenny Bartulin

Book Title: 
Author Name: 

I've really really really been looking forward to this second Jack Susko books - loved the first one (A Deadly Business).  Really like the slightly wise-cracking (with distinctly Australian tone), of a bookseller turned Accidental Detective, just trying to get by on a daily basis.

From the Blurb:

Currently Reading - Eye of the Red Tsar, Sam Eastland

Book Title: 
Author Name: 

So I'm a fickle reader.  I always maintain that blurbs / comparisons / recommendations all that stuff on a cover don't mean a thing.  But this book arrived, and there was this "perfect read for fans of Child 44, Angels and Demons...." bit in the blurb.  Angels and Demons probably didn't have the affect that the publicist might have been looking for, but I definitely did love Child 44 - and I noticed at the end of the book there is the true timeline of events around the death of the Romanovs (hate fiction that plays too much with history - my brain explodes trying to rememb

Currently Reading - The Merry Misogynist, Colin Cotterill

Author Name: 

This is such a wonderful series, I was more than happy to squeeze this book in amongst some of the more serious / dark books I've been reading recently.

From the Blurb:

Somebody in Laos is wooing and wedding country girls - and then killing them on honeymoon and binding their bodies to trees.  The horror of what this monster does to his victims leaves a bad taste in the mouths of Chief Coroner Dr Siri and his morgue team.  Not ones to stand around tutting, they vow immediate revenge.

Opening Lines:

Currently Reading - Gangland Australia, James Morton and Susanna Lobez

Book Title: 

I picked this book up at last year's Crime & Justice Festival and it's been a perfect book to dip into a read a little bit now and then.  Makes you realise that everything old is new again - the Gangland Wars of Melbourne are definitely not the first and couldn't possibly be the last.

From the Blurb:

GANGLAND AUSTRALIA details the exploits of an unforgettable cast of villains, crooks and mobsters who have made up the criminal and gangland scene in Australia.

Currently Reading - Bleed for Me, Michael Robotham

Book Title: 
Author Name: 

There is absolutely nothing like a heavy dose of the lurgy to get you tucked up in bed catching up on some reading.  Luckily the latest book from Michael Robotham arrived just in time to join the pile (which I will catch up on mentioning asap).

Oh and there was Easter - I'm sure chocolate doesn't give you a lurgy though!

From the Blurb:

Ray Hegarty, a highly respected former detective, lies dead in his daughter Sienna's bedroom.  She is found covered in his blood.  Everything points to her guilt, but psychologist Joe O'Loughlin isn't convinced.

Giveaway - Girls Like Funny Boys by Dave Franklin

Author Name: 

We're lucky enough to be able to give away 3 copies of Dave Franklin's new book - Girls Like Funny Boys (courtesy of Dave himself).

If you'd like to enter the draw - please drop me a line at kc at saki dot com dot au

I'll use the time honoured method of putting everyone's name on a bit of paper, chucking them up in the air and get the 3 dogs here to pluck a name out each. Odd undoubtedly - but effective.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Karen's blog