Karen's blog

Currently Reading - We Know, Gregg Hurwitz

Book Title: 
Author Name: 

Okay, so I'm officially embarrassed.

I knew I'd had this book for a while, but I didn't quite realise how long.

Nor have I got a single good reason for why it took me so long to pick it up, because I liked the first book "I SEE YOU".

Lazy review housekeeping is the only excuse I've got which is why I'm so embarrassed.

Currently Reading - Blood Stain, Peter Lalor

Book Title: 
Author Name: 

This is one of those true crime books that I've had here since it was published, and I've tried on a few occasions to pick it up - and the subject matter defeated me everytime.

Now I guess the question remains why on earth would you even want to read a book about such an horrific murderer.  The answer has to be that I read these things to try to get an understanding.  Sometimes it works, sometimes I'm still baffled.

From the Blurb:

Currently Reading - Eden Prime, Andy L Semple

Book Title: 
Author Name: 

This is the second book from Andy L Semple - and it's a mixture of global conspiracy, thriller, virus threat and a lot of dead bodies.  A lot of dead bodies!

From the Blurb:

In the increasingly turbulent atmosphere of international environmentalism, the once peaceful grass roots climate change group - The Eden Movement - has been covertly taken over by the mysterious figure known only to his legion of radical followers as Prime.

Opening Lines:

Currently Reading - The Man from Beijing, Henning Mankell

Author Name: 

Not a Wallender novel, the latest book from Henning Mankell is set in Sweden and China.  The blurb includes a tantalising opening line:  "Revenge Can Take More than a Lifetime..."

From the Blurb:

One cold January day the police are called to a sleepy little hamlet in the north of Sweden where they find the victim of a savage murder lying in the snow.  As they begin their investigation they notice that the village seems eerily quiet and deserted.  Going from house to house, looking for witnesses, they uncover a crime unprecedented in Swedish history.

Currently Reading - The Edge of Madness, Michael Dobbs

Book Title: 
Author Name: 

I've been a bit reticent about this book, not being a huge fan of cyber-thrillers, but I'm really pleased I picked up this book now.  Particularly with the current stories flying around about mining company computer systems being hacked - interesting to say the least.

From the Blurb:

Currently Reading - The Black Russian, Lenny Bartulin

Book Title: 
Author Name: 

I've really really really been looking forward to this second Jack Susko books - loved the first one (A Deadly Business).  Really like the slightly wise-cracking (with distinctly Australian tone), of a bookseller turned Accidental Detective, just trying to get by on a daily basis.

From the Blurb:

Currently Reading - Eye of the Red Tsar, Sam Eastland

Book Title: 
Author Name: 

So I'm a fickle reader.  I always maintain that blurbs / comparisons / recommendations all that stuff on a cover don't mean a thing.  But this book arrived, and there was this "perfect read for fans of Child 44, Angels and Demons...." bit in the blurb.  Angels and Demons probably didn't have the affect that the publicist might have been looking for, but I definitely did love Child 44 - and I noticed at the end of the book there is the true timeline of events around the death of the Romanovs (hate fiction that plays too much with history - my brain explodes trying to rememb

Currently Reading - The Merry Misogynist, Colin Cotterill

Author Name: 

This is such a wonderful series, I was more than happy to squeeze this book in amongst some of the more serious / dark books I've been reading recently.

From the Blurb:

Somebody in Laos is wooing and wedding country girls - and then killing them on honeymoon and binding their bodies to trees.  The horror of what this monster does to his victims leaves a bad taste in the mouths of Chief Coroner Dr Siri and his morgue team.  Not ones to stand around tutting, they vow immediate revenge.

Opening Lines:

Currently Reading - Gangland Australia, James Morton and Susanna Lobez

Book Title: 

I picked this book up at last year's Crime & Justice Festival and it's been a perfect book to dip into a read a little bit now and then.  Makes you realise that everything old is new again - the Gangland Wars of Melbourne are definitely not the first and couldn't possibly be the last.

From the Blurb:

GANGLAND AUSTRALIA details the exploits of an unforgettable cast of villains, crooks and mobsters who have made up the criminal and gangland scene in Australia.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Karen's blog