Karen's blog

#amreading Tess, Kirsten McDougall

Book Title: 
Author Name: 

Another from the weekend's New Zealand piles.

From the Blurb:

"In the silence she could hear the oncoming hum, like a large flock approaching. She didn’t want to hear his story; she’d had enough of them."

Tess is on the run when she’s picked up from the side of the road by lonely middle-aged father Lewis Rose. With reluctance, she’s drawn into his family troubles and comes to know a life she never had. 

Set in Masterton at the turn of the millennium, Tess is a gothic love story about the ties that bind and tear a family apart.

#amreading Killing is My Business, Adam Christopher

Author Name: 

Another from the weekend's pile of New Zealand fiction, the second in the Raymond Electromatic trilogy.

From the Blurb:

A blend of science fiction and stylish mystery noir featuring a robot detective: the stand alone sequel to Made to Kill

#amreading Know Me Now, C.J. Carver

Book Title: 
Author Name: 

One from a weekend's reading catch up on the New Zealand / Ngaio Marsh piles.

From the Blurb:

A SUICIDE. A MURDER. A CONSPIRACY. 

DIGGING UP THE PAST CAN BE DEADLY . . .

A thirteen-year-old boy commits suicide.

A sixty-five-year old man dies of a heart attack.

Dan Forrester, ex-MI5 agent, is connected to them both. 

And when he discovers that his godson and his father have been murdered, he teams up with his old friend, DC Lucy Davies, to find answers.

#amreading Tell Me A Lie, C.J. Carver

Book Title: 
Author Name: 

Another from the New Zealand piles.

From the Blurb:

How do you protect your family when you can't remember who's hunting them? A gripping international thriller, perfect for fans of Lee Child and Mason Cross 

A family in England is massacred, the father left holding the shotgun.

PC Lucy Davies is convinced he's innocent

A sleeper agent in Moscow requests an urgent meeting with Dan Forrester, referencing their shared past.

His amnesia means he has no idea who he can trust.

#amreading Villain, Edward Berridge

Book Title: 
Author Name: 

Easter reading pile number whatever I'm up to now.

From the Blurb:

“I was aware of the weight of Spoole’s head, clutched against my stomach. I hadn’t thought of a head being something that was heavy to carry. Another new thing learned.”

#amreading The Chinese Proverb, Tina Clough

Book Title: 
Author Name: 

Starting off with this one over the Easter long weekend.

From the Blurb:

Army veteran Hunter Grant thought he had left war behind in Afghanistan – a conflict that left him with physical and psychological scars. But finding an unconscious girl in the Northland bush and gradually untangling her story involves him in a war of a different kind in his own country.

#amreading Hot Flush, Rosy Fenwicke

Book Title: 
Author Name: 

From the current reading pile.

From the Blurb:

SUPERPOWERS SHOULD NOT BE WASTED ON THE YOUNG

Euphemia Sage watched helplessly as Jane, covered in blood, clutched her precious jewelry and was bundled into the Mercedes. Just a few days earlier she’d discovered that Alison, her mousy receptionist at Sage Consulting, had been working as a loan shark on the side. And now Alison, her husband and those thick-necked men in the cheap suits wanted the money back.

#amreading The Shadow Dancers, Angus McLean

Book Title: 
Author Name: 

Another from this year's very varied New Zealand stacks.

From the Blurb:

“We are The Division. This is what we do.” 

A politician’s daughter goes missing in Turkey, as Russia bombs neighbouring Syria and chaos explodes throughout the Middle East. Rob Moore of Division 5 is sent from London to find her, but he’s a man with his own problems. 

#amreading Painted, Kirsten McKenzie

Book Title: 
Author Name: 

Another from the weekend pile

From the Blurb:

If art can capture a soul, what happens when one of those souls escapes?

When art appraiser Anita Cassatt is sent to catalogue the extensive collection of reclusive artist Leo Kubin, it isn’t only the chilly atmosphere of the secluded house making her shiver.